Posted by: westoole | December 16, 2008

Where does the butterfly go when it rains?

scary-computer11I remember in 3rd grade reading a story in class that continued to ask the question, “Where does the butterfly go when it rains?” In this simple story it seemed to create a mystery as to how we never see a butterfly when it rains, but once the sun is back out they magically appear. Well, just as I have always wondered about this minor mystery I have been equally ignorant as to where my electronic stuff goes when it has outlived it’s usefulness.

Part of the reason I have never tried to find out where butterflies go when it rains is because it has no impact on my day to day life. I simply didn’t care (so don’t ask me why I still remember the story)! However, unlike the elusive butterfly the end-state of our gadgetry effects us all. I recently became aware of this issue while looking at a photojournalism piece done on child labor issues in Bangladesh. These kids were working to recycle batteries and the health effects are heartbreaking.

Shortly after seeing this work I saw a news piece about “e-waste” recycling and how nearly 80% of our e-waste is being exported to impoverished countries. Why is this a problem? Doesn’t it create jobs for the impoverished? Yes, it absolutely creates jobs. The problem is that many of those laboring to break down our old computers and electronics are children and are being paid a pauper’s wage for hazardous labor. Most of these electronic items are not being properly recycled. Instead, our e-waste is being shipped off to countries like India, Thailand, and China and are being broken down for the semi-precious metals contained inside. The problem comes with what happens to the rest of the “stuff”. Our computers and monitors have an insane amount of toxic chemicals that are being melted down and released into water sources and thus effecting the health of those living and working in and around those environments.

This is not a small problem. Think about the number gadgets sold in the U.S. alone during this time of year. Now think about what those new and improved items are replacing. When you begin to consider the size and volume of the e-waste being disposed of it is quite staggering.

So what do we do? Do we all go back to the days of carrier pigeons and parchment?  Of course not. I am not sitting her touting the evils of technology. However, I hope this comes as a warning to act responsibly…especially this time of year when we max out our credit at Best Buy and Circuit City. For anyone interested in how to properly dispose of their unwanted gadgets there is a great website that gives more information and offers solutions to avoid contributing to this rising epidemic (www.etoxics.org).

And the answer to the original 3rd grade mystery….under rocks, leaves, and overhangs. I never said I was a bright 3rd grader!


Responses

  1. I know the story you refer to. That’s why our very first desktop, the one that hasn’t been used in eight years, is still sitting in the basement and why the cell phone that can only be used in Europe still sits in the glove compartment in the Jeep.

  2. On second thought, the reason for the European cell phone in the Jeep has nothing to do with saving the Earth. I have deceived myself into believing that I will use it again. Throwing it away would force me to succomb to reality and realize that the probability of returning to Germany and the life we had there is actually very small.

    Which window does that fit?

  3. I still have my Commodore 64 that I purchased in 1984 for $595.00. It will never be shipped to Africa for disposal. Great Blog.

  4. Can’t wait till your next post. This blog is going to be amazing. We love you guys and trust and pray you have a wonderful CHRISTmas!

  5. […] Toole who was a guest blogger during my recent trip to Indonesia has just started a blog. His blog, Johari’s Window is sure to make Mr. Toole a blogging phenom overnight.  Wes and his family have been a part of the […]


Leave a comment

Categories